Varanasi tourism Varanasi Tourism
Varanasi Ganges river
Translate into your language:

Sapta Puri Centers

Varanasi Pilgrimage

Sapta Puri centers are seven popular Hindu pilgrimage destinations. Varanasi is one among those seven holy destinations. India has always been the land of wide ranging popular cults of vegetative divinities (yakshas), aquatic divinities (nagas) and Goddesses (devis). The particular myths come and go; the narration may change or may be forgotten, but the hilltop, the pool and the grove remain. Varanasi is located on the banks of the famous and mighty river Ganges. Ganges has a great belief attached to it by followers of Hinduism. It is believed that the river washes away the sins on taking a dip in the river. Varanasi is famously called the city of temples, learning, culture, classical music and traditional small scale industries. Varanasi is a mixture of religion, philosophy, culture and crafts. However, Varanasi does not stand alone as India's only sacred city. India can be truly described as the land of temples; a land that pulsates with the devotion of the natives; a land where the tolling of the bells, the smell of the incense sticks and camphor permeate the air venerating the innumerable Gods, as per the Hindu religion. In this land there are seven holy tirthas or pilgrimage centers known as the Sapta Puri, where Gods in different incarnations known as avatars are believed to have descended. Sapta means seven and Puri means a town. It is believed that if one makes a pilgrimage to all the seven centers, one will attain Moksha or salvation. His / Her soul would be liberated from this cycle of birth/death and rebirth. These 7 cities are termed to be Mokshada which means these are the bestower of liberation and the people who die within the boundaries of these 7 cities are assured the path of salvation. In addition to the seven cities, there are the 4 "divine abodes" or "dhams" at the four compass points of India; namely Badrinath in the Himalayan North, Puri in the East, Rameshvaram in the south, Dwarka in the west. For Hindus, pilgrimage to the tirthas has been an important unifying force, not only for sects and regions but for the wider Hindu perception which constitutes the land of India. The word Teertha is derived from the Sanskrit word Tri which means to be rid of all sins. The seven teerthas or holy pilgrimage towns of spiritual importance, as per the Holy Scriptures in India are by the names of Ayodhya, Mathura, Dwarka, Haridwar, Varanasi (Benaras, Kashi), Kanchipuram, and Ujjain (Avanti). Kashi, known also as Varanasi, is one of the oldest inhabited cities in the world and among all sapt puri cities. Believed to be the favorite city of Lord Shiva, and known as "Shiv ki Nagri" in Hindi, the first Jyotirlinga of God Shiva emerged here. The Pandavas are also believed to have visited Kashi to seek the blessings of Lord Shiva. It is believed that anyone who dies in Kashi will attain moksha or liberation. With a mention in the Mahabharata, Ramayana and even the Puranas dating back to 5000 years, Kashi has more than 2000 temples and 81 ghats. The most well known ghats and temples are as follows:
Ghats: Manikarnika, Dashashwamedha and Pancha-ganga, Assi Sangam and Varana Sangam.
Temples: Adi Keshava Vishnu temple located at the confluence of River Ganga and River Varana, Vishvanath temple, Bindhu Madhava, Adi Keshava temple, Durga temple, Sankat Mochan temple

We offer full sapt-puri tours also to our esteemed customers if they wish to complete their tour with us. We have excellent hotels, tourist cabs and transport booking services for all our clients. Kindly fill up the given below booking request form and send it so that we can help serve the best possible religious and sacred sapt-puri or just single Varanasi tour in the best format possible.

Related links

Quotation Request Form
NUMBER OF VISITORS*: Adults:    Children (Below 05Yrs):
TRAVEL DATES (dd/mm/yyyy)*: Check-in:   Check-out:
ROOMS*: Single:    Double:    Triple:
MORE DETAILS: like places to visit, arrival/ departure details, special interest/ requirement etc.
Enter same code *  
Varanasi Tour Packages Varanasi Standard
02 Nights / 03 Days
Lucknow Varanasi Tour Lucknow Varanasi Tour
01 Nights / 02 Days
Varanasi Allahabad Tour Varanasi Allahabad Tour
02 Nights / 03 Days
Varanasi Bodhgaya Tour Varanasi Bodhgaya Tour
03 Nights / 04 Days
Varanasi Bandhavgarh Tour Bandhavgarh Varanasi Tour
04 Nights / 05 Days
Varanasi Tour Packages Temples & Ghats
04 Nights / 05 Days
Varanasi Tour Packages Varanasi Sarnath Tour
05 Nights / 06 Days
Varanasi Tours Agra Khajuraho Varanasi
06 Nights / 07 Days
Varanasi Tour Jaipur Agra Varanasi
07 Nights / 08 Days
Varanasi Trip Taj Tiger Ganges
08 Nights / 09 Days
Varanasi Tour Packages Buddhist Pilgrimage
09 Nights / 10 Days
Varanasi Tours Kings to Saints
09 Nights / 10 Days
---- More Tours ----
Sarnath Stupas

Copyright © All rights reserved.