Varanasi tourism Varanasi Tourism
Varanasi Ganges river
Translate into your language:

Ganges Cities

Ganges Cities

Let's read about Ganges cities. Here we have shared information about cities located on the bank of Ganges river. The River Ganga is worshipped and venerated as Goddess in Hindu religion. In Hinduism, there are many myths and stories about the descent of River Ganga on Earth. According to Hindu mythology, Bhagirath, a descendant of King Sagara, brought River Ganges on the Earth. It is said that Bhagirath led the way and river Ganga followed him, reaching the spot where the ashes of his ancestors were laid. Goddess Ganga took her river form and flowed upon them in her river form and thus finally, the water of River Ganga liberated the souls of Bhagirath's ancestors and they were free from their sins. For ages, River Ganga has been at the center of the economic, social, cultural and religious life of the people, especially in North India. Over a period of time, many cities grew and developed on the banks of the holy river, Ganges. Two head streams, Alaknanda and Bhagirathi merge together at Dev-prayag to give birth to Ganga. From the great Himalayas, the Ganges descends on the plains in Haridwar. Haridwar is an important and holy center of Hindu pilgrimage and one of the four venues of the Kumbha Mela (the other three being Ujjain, Prayag and Nashik). Thousands of Hindu pilgrims gather at Haridwar to take holy dip in the Ganges on pious occasions. Other important cities on the Ganges include Kanpur, Allahabad, Varanasi and Patna . Of these cities Allahabad or Prayag and Varanasi hold great significance for the Hindus. Prayag (Allahabad) is also an important pilgrim center for the Hindus and one of the four venues of the great Kumbha Mela. River Ganga and River Yamuna merge at Prayag (Sangam or union). Perhaps the most popular and venerated of all the cities located on the banks of river Ganga is Varanasi. Varanasi is also known as Kashi or Benaras. Varanasi is considered as the cultural capital of India and attracts thousands of Hindu pilgrims and visitors from all parts of the world. Varanasi has been a traditional center of learning of philosophy, Sanskrit, astrology and religion. The Ganges (also known as Ganga or Gonga), is the biggest river in the Indian subcontinent in terms of water flow. The length of the Ganga is 2,510 km or 1,560 miles. The river has its origin in the Western Himalayan Ranges in the state of Uttarakhand. The followers of Hindu religion regard the Ganges to be the most sacred of all the rivers in India. The river is revered as the deity Ganga in Hindu religion. The river also has significant historical values - a number of colonial or royal capitals like Kannauj, Patliputra (modern day Patna), Allahabad, Kara, Baharampur, Murshidabad, and Kolkata are situated on the riverbanks of the Ganges. Many towns and cities along side this path of Ganga are existing, having crops, having livestock of humans, animals and plant vegetation etc only because of the Ganga. The Ganges River Catchment Basin covers an area of 390,000 sq miles (1,000,000 sq km) and supplies to one of the maximum populated areas in the world. The average depth of the Ganges River is 16 m or 52 feet and the highest depth is 30 m or 100 feet. The river has been proclaimed as the National river of India. The first Prime Minister of India, Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru, cited a number of emblematic interpretations regarding the Ganges on the Indian subcontinent in his famous book, the Discovery of India (published in 1946).The Ganges passes through the states of Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand, and West Bengal. If we talk from the cities and towns point of view, the Ganges passes through following cities/towns one by one in ascending order Gaumukh, Gangotri, Rudraprayag, Devprayag, Rishikesh, Haridwar, Kanpur, Allahabad, Mirzapur, Varanasi, Ara, Patna, Bhagalpur, Bahrampur then Ganges join Hooghly river to fall into Bay of Bengal from Indian side and from the other side, it goes straight to enter Bangladesh where it is called as Padma river. The Padma is joined by the Jamuna River, the largest distributary of the Brahmaputra to fall into Bay of Bengal Sea.

Ganges Tributaries
The major tributaries of the Ganga are as follows: Left tributaries - Karnali, Mahakhali, Gandak, Koshi (Kosi), Ghaghra, and Damodar Right tributaries - Yamuna, Son, Mahananda, Chambal

Related links

Quotation Request Form
NUMBER OF VISITORS*: Adults:    Children (Below 05Yrs):
TRAVEL DATES (dd/mm/yyyy)*: Check-in:   Check-out:
ROOMS*: Single:    Double:    Triple:
MORE DETAILS: like places to visit, arrival/ departure details, special interest/ requirement etc.
Enter same code *  
Varanasi Tour Packages Varanasi Standard
02 Nights / 03 Days
Lucknow Varanasi Tour Lucknow Varanasi Tour
01 Nights / 02 Days
Varanasi Allahabad Tour Varanasi Allahabad Tour
02 Nights / 03 Days
Varanasi Bodhgaya Tour Varanasi Bodhgaya Tour
03 Nights / 04 Days
Varanasi Bandhavgarh Tour Bandhavgarh Varanasi Tour
04 Nights / 05 Days
Varanasi Tour Packages Temples & Ghats
04 Nights / 05 Days
Varanasi Tour Packages Varanasi Sarnath Tour
05 Nights / 06 Days
Varanasi Tours Agra Khajuraho Varanasi
06 Nights / 07 Days
Varanasi Tour Jaipur Agra Varanasi
07 Nights / 08 Days
Varanasi Trip Taj Tiger Ganges
08 Nights / 09 Days
Varanasi Tour Packages Buddhist Pilgrimage
09 Nights / 10 Days
Varanasi Tours Kings to Saints
09 Nights / 10 Days
---- More Tours ----
Sarnath Stupas

Copyright © All rights reserved.